ATLANTIC COUNCIL OF TEACHERS OF GERMAN

Mission Statement

The objectives of the Council shall be: to promote the teaching and learning of the German language and culture to improve the teaching of German by increasing members' knowledge and understanding of current teaching methods and materials to act as a forum for discussion of new trends and developments in foreign language teaching to furnish recommendations and advice to governmental departments, educational institutions and administrative bodies and to other organizations or individuals who may seek such contact to cooperate with other organizations with similar objectives to act in liaison with the Canadian Council of Teachers of German to represent the CCTG in the Atlantic Region of Canada where appropriate.

Membership

Any person teaching German or having a professional interest in the teaching or promotion of the teaching of the German language and/or culture is eligible for membership. Presently the following institutions are represented by membership:

New Brunswick

Mount Allison University
Department of German

Sackville, NB E4L 1A3
Dr. Renata Schellenberg
(506) 364-2477 
rschelle@mta.ca

University of New Brunswick
Department of Culture and Language Studies

Fredericton, NB E3B 5A3
Annette Guse
(506) 458-7716
aguse@unb.ca

Newfoundland

Memorial University of Newfoundland
German Division, Department of Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9
Dr. John Buffinga
(709) 737-8826
johnb@morgan.ucs.mun.ca

Nova Scotia

Acadia University
Department of Languages and Literatures - German Studies

Wolfville, NS B4P 2R6
Christian Thomas
(902) 585-1271
christian.thomas@acadiau.ca

Dalhousie University
Department of German

Halifax NS B3H 3J5
Brigid Garvey
(902) 494-1095
brigid.garvey@IS.Dal.Ca

Saint Mary's University
Department of Modern Languages and Classics - German

Halifax NS, B3H 3C3
Dr. John Plews
(902) 420-5813
jplews@stmarys.ca

Mount Saint Vincent University
Department of Modern Languages and Classics - German

166 Bedford Highway, Bedford NS
Ulrike Bahr-Gedalia
(902) 457-6555 ext. 1110
ulrike.bahr-gedalia@msvu.ca

St. Francis-Xavier University
Modern Languages Dep. German Section

P.O. Box 5000, Antigonish, NS B2G 2W5
Maris Lade
(902) 867-5172
mlade@stfx.ca