Navigation

ATLANTIC COUNCIL FOR GERMAN TEACHERS

Mission Statement

The objectives of the Council shall be: to promote the teaching and learning of the German language and culture to improve the teaching of German by increasing members' knowledge and understanding of current teaching methods and materials to act as a forum for discussion of new trends and developments in foreign language teaching to furnish recommendations and advice to governmental departments, educational institutions and administrative bodies and to other organizations or individuals who may seek such contact to cooperate with other organizations with similar objectives to act in liaison with the Canadian Council of Teachers of German to represent the CCTG in the Atlantic Region of Canada where appropriate.

Membership

Any person teaching German or having a professional interest in the teaching or promotion of the teaching of the German language and/or culture is eligible for membership.

Presently the following institutions are represented by membership:

New Brunswick

Mount Allison University
Department of German,
Sakville, NB, E4L 1A3
contact: Dr. Renata Schellenberg,
Tel: (506) 364-2477
E-mail: rschelle@mta.ca

University of New Brunswick
Department of Culture and Language Studies
Fredericton, E3B 5A3
contact: Annette Guse, Tel: (506) 458-7716
E-mail: aguse@unb.ca

Newfoundland

Memorial University of Newfoundland
Department of German and Russian
St. John's, A1B 3X9
contact: Dr. John Buffinga, Tel:(709) 737-8826
E-mail: johnb@morgan.ucs.mun.ca

Nova Scotia

Acadia University
Department of Languages and Literatures - German Studies
B4P 2R6
contact: Christian Thomas Tel: (902) 585-1271
E-mail: christian.thomas@acadiau.ca

Dalhousie University
Department of German

Halifax N.S.
B3H 3J5
contact: Brigid Garvey, Tel: (902) 494-1095
E-mail:  brigid.garvey@IS.Dal.Ca

Saint Mary's University
Department of Modern Languages and Classics - German

Halifax, B3H 3C3
contact: Dr. John Plews,  Tel: (902) 420-5813
E-mail: jplews@stmarys.ca
 
Mount Saint Vincent University
Department of Modern Languages and Classics - German

166 Bedford Highway, Bedford
contact: Ulrike Bahr-Gedalia
Tel: (902) 457-6555 ext. 1110
E-Mail: ulrike.bahr-gedalia@msvu.ca
 

St. Francis-Xavier University
Modern Languages Dep. German Section

P.O. Box 5000
Antigonish, NS, B2G 2W5
(902) 867-5172 
Contact: Maris Lade
mlade@stfx.ca

Prince Edward Island

University of P.E.I.
Department of Modern Languages

Charlottetown, C1A 4P3
contact: Dr. Lothar Zimmermann

 

EXECUTIVE

President
Marianne Eiselt
76 Country Squire Lane, Charters Settlement,
NB, E3C 1W6 (home address)
University of New Brunswick, NB
(506) 458-7717
(506) 452-0995 (fax)
meiselt@unb.ca

Vice President and Treasurer
Christian Thomas
Dep. of Languages and Literatures
Box 69 Acadia U. Hall,
Acadia University
Wolfville, N.S., B4P 2R6
(902) 585-1389
(902) 670-2467 (home)
(902)585-1070 (fax)
christian.thomas@acadiau.ca